Don’t Try To Figure Out Life!

I like to figure things out. That’s why I became an engineer. For years figuring out how to design machines to work the way I wanted them to was how I made my living. But one thing I know I’ll never figure out is life. And the great thing about that is – I don’t have to!

Bible

Proverbs 3:5-8    Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding;  6  In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He shall direct your paths.  7  Do not be wise in your own eyes; fear the LORD and depart from evil.  8  It will be health to your flesh, and strength to your bones.

 

Trusting in the Lord with all your heart and leaning not on your own understanding obviously means a lot of prayer!

The promise is that when we do that, we can know that God will direct our paths (make them straight) – and we will prosper in all we do (Psalm 1:3).

To not pray is to be wise in my own eyes – to think that I can figure out what to do and how to make it work for me. That way lies a lot of stress and a lot of failure! But when I bring every issue before the Lord, “It will be health to my flesh, and strength to my bones.” I won’t be stressed out about anything!

So, prayer has got to be the first priority of my day.

Ron Franklin

About RonElFran

Ron Franklin is a graduate of Denver Seminary in Colorado, and is the now retired founding pastor of a church in Harrisburg, PA. A former engineer and manager for high-tech companies such as IBM, Ron has written extensively on matters relating to the Christian faith, modern technology, the Civil War, and African American history. You can see a selection of his articles at http://hubpages.com/@ronelfran .
This entry was posted in Behavior, Bible Study, Christian Life, Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd like your comment!

